Award of Excellence Past Winners

1987 Alan N. Gent, University of Akron
For his outstanding contributions in establishing fracture energy criteria for adhesive failure and developing elegant test procedures based on those criteria

1988 Edwin P. Plueddemann, Dow Corning
For creating the technology of silane coupling agents used for increased environmental durability of adhesive systems

1989 Frederick M. Fowkes, Lehigh University
For fundamental understanding of and contributions to interfacial phenomena with particular reference to adhesion science

1990 Willard D. Bascom, University of Utah
For pioneering research in many subfields of adhesive science, including wetting

1991 John D. Venables, Martin Marietta
For contributions to our understanding of metal oxide morphology and chemistry with implications for adhesive bond durability

1992 Anthony J. Kinloch, Imperial College
For his contributions in the application of fracture mechanics and surface science to the study of failure mechanisms in structural adhesive bonds

1993 Louis H. Sharpe, Consultant
For his recognition of the nature and significance of the interphase and for unparalleled leadership in the establishment of the archival literature in adhesion science

1994 Lawrence T. Drzal, Michigan State University
For enhancing the understanding of adhesion phenomena in fiber-reinforced composites and for the development of methods to quantify these phenomena

1995 Jacques Schultz, Centre des Nationale Recherches Scientific
For fundamental work in defining the relationship between wetting and surface energetics and the practical strength of adhesive bonds

1996 Robert J. Good, SUNY Buffalo
For pioneering the theory of intermolecular forces across interfaces

1998 Kevin Kendall, Keele University
For the development of a method and theory which allows the direct measurement of adhesion energies between materials and for the novel application of fracture mechanics to explain adhesion phenomena

1999 F. James Boerio, University of Cincinnati
For the expansion of our knowledge of bonding at interfaces through the use of infrared spectroscopy and related techniques

2000 Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, College de France
For his contribution to the understanding of molecular mechanisms of adhesion, especially through the notion of connector molecules

2001 Hatsuo Ishida, Case Western Reserve University
For distinguished service as researcher, teacher and global activist for the benefit of adhesion and composite interface science

2002 Kenneth L. Johnson, Cambridge University
For his seminal work in the science of contact mechanics and the influence of adhesion between solid surfaces

2003 Jacob Israelachvili, University of California, Santa Barbara
For clarifying the molecular-level processes associated with adhesion, friction and lubrication and the relationships between them

2004 A. Wilhelm Neumann, University of Toronto
For a lifetime of contributions to the understanding of surface thermodynamics and wettability, crucial to the science of adhesion

2005 Manoj K. Chaudhury, Lehigh University
For exceptional creativity and ingenuity in research on adhesion and wetting and the development of simple methods to measure the strength of attraction between materials

2006 Hugh Brown, University of Wollongong
For his exceptionally creative and diverse contributions to the understanding of the mechanisms of adhesion between polymers, including the effect of block copolymers on the fracture strength of polymer interfaces

2007 Liliane Leger, University Paris – Sud Orsay
For her seminal contributions to the field of Adhesion Science and Tribology of soft materials

2008 John Watts, University of Surrey
For the innovative application of surface analysis methods to study the interfacial chemistry of adhesion

2009 Herbert J. Waite, University of California at Santa Barbara
For his groundbreaking contributions to the understanding of the relation-ship between chemistry and mechanics in bioadhesion

2010 David A. Dillard, Virginia Tech
For exceptional insight, teaching, and Illuminating experimental investigations concerning the mechanics and durability of bonded systems

2011 Chung Yuen (Herbert) Hui, Cornell University
For his meritorious and creative contributions to the application of Fracture Mechanics in understanding the problems of adhesion science

2012 Wulff Possart, Universitat des Saarlandes, Germany
For excellence in the application of physics and chemistry methodologies to fundamental and applied research in adhesion science

2013 Costantino Creton, Laboratorie PCSM -ESPCI, FRANCE
For his outstanding contributions to the understanding of the mechanism of action of soft adhesives

2014 Anand Jagota, LeHigh University
For excellence in the application of physics and chemistry methodologies to fundamental and applied research in adhesion science

2015 Kenneth Liechti, University of Texas at Austin
For his contributions to our understanding of crack growth at material interfaces

2016 Ken Shull, Northwestern University
For fundamental insight into the balance between surface functionality, polymer physics, and mechanics in adhesion

2017 Tom McCarthy, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
For his pioneering research in elucidating mechanisms of surface chemistry and wetting of polymers

2018 Ray Pearson, Lehigh University          
For his pioneering research in elucidating mechanisms of rubber toughening of polymers and structural adhesives

 2019 Al Crosby, University of Massachusetts
For his creative use of mechanics to understand adhesion phenomena of soft materials, and impactful contributions to the technology of adhesion and adhesives.

 2020 Ali Dhinojwala,  University of Akron
For Fundamental Studies in Adhesion and Friction using Sum-Frequency-Generation Spectroscopy

2021 Eduard Arzt, Leibniz Institute for New Materials      
For Seminal Contributions to Adhesion and Friction of Biomimetic Structured Soft Solids

2022 Bo Persson, Reasearch Center Juelich and MultiscaleConsulting
For his exceptional contributions to the understanding of the role of roughness on adhesion, friction, and contact mechanics.

2023 Michael Thouless, University of Michigan    
For his exceptional and deep contributions elucidating the mechanics of adhesion

2024 Timothy Long, University of Arizona
In recognition for fundamental insights into adhesion at the molecular level from pressure sensitive and hot melt adhesives to additive manufacturing of next generation structural adhesives

@Copyright 2024.

The Adhesion Society, 510 King Street, Suite 418, Alexandria, VA 22314

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software